Hold Tight…

September 6, 2007 at 11:58 am (Animation)

Animation is no longer just for the big screen. For many years now, the home animator has been able to create from the comfort of their own home, and spread their love across the internet with free or cheap hosting. Sites like Digg have made it simple to share those clips.

Back in the day, I got a kick out of gaming. The early stuff like Prince of Persia on the two color, yellow and black screen would keep me amused for hours. Once I upgraded, there was the age of Doom, as gaming moved away from an exclusive hobby for those with consoles and could be shared by computer users too.

In my mind, gaming has gone one step further. In games like uh such-as, The Sims and RollerCoaster Tycoon where the player is essentially playing god, there is opportunity to maximize the playability but turning the game into an animation studio. The internet is full of music videos that gamers have created for their favorite tracks, just using their games at home.

Everyone’s an artist, right?!

RollerCoaster Tycoon holds a special place in my heart. I saw many a sunrise due to this game back in it’s heyday/

3 Comments

  1. Duhu said,

    Although I was never an avid video game player, I did enjoy some mario games. I think it is amazing what we can do today…

  2. toastarcade said,

    I’m a major gamer and cartoon enthusiast, I have Roller Coaster Tycoon 1 and love it, but what frustrates me so much is that if you build a sick roller coaster like the one you show in the video (which is awesome) they people won’t ride it at all because they’re all too afraid. lol

  3. aniMOte said,

    I grew up on Mario… and as for RCT, I was hooked on one and two – but never tried out three – I guess I’m scared of getting hooked 😉

Leave a Reply

